Promoting 3R principles through quality science and education

Mission

Das 3R Kompetenzzentrum Schweiz (3RCC) fördert die 3R-Prinzipien – d.h. den Ersatz (Replace), die Verringerung (Reduce) und die Verbesserung (Refine) von Tierversuchen – in der Schweiz und unterstützt deren Umsetzung in den Biowissenschaften, wobei es seinen Schwerpunkt auf Forschung, Bildung und Kommunikation legt.


«3Rs Award 2019» des Schweizer 3RCC

Das 3RCC würdigt Forscher, die einen signifikanten Beitrag zur Förderung der 3R-Prinzipien – d.h. den Ersatz (Replace), die Verringerung (Reduce) und die Verbesserung (Refine) von Tierversuchen – auf dem Gebiet der Biowissenschaften geleistet haben, mit einem «3Rs Award» und einem Preisgeld von 5’000 Franken. Bewerbungsschluss ist der 17. Juni 2019. 


«Swiss 3Rs Day» am 2. September 2019

Das Schweizer 3RCC organisiert am 2. September 2019 den Swiss 3Rs Day im Hotel Kreuz in Bern. Anlässlich des 60-jährigen Jubiläums des von Russel und Burch beschriebenen 3R-Prinzips werden an diesem Tag nationale und internationale Experten neueste 3R-Forschungsresultate vorstellen. Mehr Informationen.


Über uns

Das 3R Kompetenzzentrum Schweiz ist ein in Bern ansässiger, gemeinnütziger Verein. Unser Ziel ist, die Forschung, Bildung und Kommunikation in Zusammenhang mit den 3R-Prinzipien (Replacement, Reduction and Refinement of Animal Experimentation) zu fördern, um Tierversuche zu ersetzen, zu verringern und zu verbessern.

Das Schweizer 3RCC wurde am 27. März 2018 gegründet und ist eine gemeinsame Initiative von Hochschulen, Industrie, Aufsichts- und Regierungsbehörden sowie Tierschutzorganisationen. Zu den Partnern gehören 11 Schweizer Universitäten und Hochschulen, der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz (Interpharma), das Schweizer Bundesamt für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen (BLV) und der Schweizer Tierschutz (STS).

Das 3RCC ist ein wissenschaftliches Zentrum von nationaler Bedeutung, das im Sinne von Artikel 15 des Bundesgesetzes über die Förderung der Forschung und der Innovation (FIFG) auf einer nichtkommerziellen Basis tätig ist und von der Unterstützung des Schweizer Staatssekretariats für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (SBFI) profitiert. Das SBFI fungiert ebenso wie das Schweizer Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) als beobachtendes Mitglied.

Was sind die 3R-Prinzipien?


Aktivitäten

Das 3R Kompetenzzentrum Schweiz:

  • Es fördert qualitativ hochwertige Forschung und das Wohl der Tiere durch die finanzielle Unterstützung herausragender wissenschaftlicher Projekte im Bereich der 3R. 
  • Es entwickelt eine 3R-Bildungsstrategie, angepasst auf verschiedene Stufen und Berufsgruppen.
  • Es schafft ein Netzwerk und eine Kommunikationsplattform, um Stakeholdern und Interessierten aktuelle Informationen zu den 3R-Prinzipien und zu Alternativmethoden zu Tierversuchen bereitzustellen.

Das 3RCC überwacht zudem die Fortschritte, die bei der Umsetzung der 3R-Prinzipien in der Schweiz erzielt werden. Es bietet sein Know-how Behörden, Bildungseinrichtungen und allen anderen Interessierten an, die zusätzliche Informationen zu den 3R-Prinzipien und zu Alternativmethoden zu Tierversuchen erhalten möchten.

Forschungs-förderung  

Regelmässige offene und gezielte Ausschreibungen für Forschungsprojekte.

Bildung 

Bildungsprogramme und Unterlagen zu den 3R-Prinzipien für Forscher, Studenten und Bildungseinrichtungen.

Aktivitäten, Informationen

Aktivitäten und Informationen des 3RCC in Zusammenhang mit den 3R-Prinzipien bei Tierversuchen.


See all 3RCC newsletters

Newsletters

3R-Neuigkeiten

Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden!

Melden Sie sich für den monatlichen Newsletter an, um die neusten Infos rund um die 3R und das 3RCC zu erhalten.


Agenda

Symposien und Kongresse

Aus- und Weiterbildung


Gründungsmitglieder

Mitglieder der verschiedenen Gremien


Kontakt

Falls Sie Fragen haben oder zusätzliche Informationen benötigen, stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung:

Chantra Eskes Director

Chantal Britt Communications chantal.britt [at]swiss3rcc.org

 

Armand Mensen Scientific Officer armand.mensen[at]swiss3rcc.org

Isabelle Desbaillets Scientific Officer isabelle.desbaillets[at]swiss3rcc.org

Phone +41 31 631 56 22 E-Mail secretariat@swiss3rcc.org

Medienanfragen/Informationen:
Chantal Britt, Tel. +41 31 631 56 22, Mobil +41 76 588 08 24

Adresse

Directorate 3RCC c/o University of Bern Hochschulstrasse 6, CH-3012 Bern

Lage

Promoting 3R principles through quality science and education

Mission

The Swiss 3R Competence Centre (3RCC) promotes the 3Rs principle (replacement, reduction and refinement of animal experimentation) in Switzerland and facilitates its implementation in life sciences, focusing on research, education and communication.


Swiss 3RCC 3Rs Award 2019

The 3RCC offers an award of CHF 5,000 to scientists who have significantly contributed to the advancement of Replacement, Reduction, Refinement of animal experimentation (the principle of 3Rs) in the area of life sciences. Application deadline: 17 June 2019. 3RCC award information sheet and application form. More information on award on 3RCC website.


Swiss 3Rs Day on 2 Sept. 2019

The Swiss 3RCC is organising the Swiss 3Rs Day on 2 September 2019 at the Hotel Kreuz in Bern. The event, commemorating the 3Rs principle, Russel and Burch first described 60 years ago, will offer invited lectures and presentations of research results on the 3Rs. More information


About us

The Swiss 3R Competence Centre, a nonprofit association located in Bern, promotes research, education and communication for the replacement, reduction and refinement of animal experimentation (3Rs principle).

The Swiss 3RCC, founded on 27 March 2018, is a joint initiative of academia, the industry, regulators, the government and animal welfare associations. Its partners include 11 universities and higher education institutions from Switzerland, the Swiss association of the pharmaceutical industry (Interpharma), the Swiss Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office (FSVO) and Swiss Animal Protection (SAP).

The 3RCC is a scientific centre of national importance working on a non-commercial basis according to article 15 of the Federal Act on the Promotion of Research and Innovation (RIPA), and benefits from the support of the Swiss State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI). SERI as well as the Swiss Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) are observer members of the 3RCC association.

What are the 3Rs?


Activities

The Swiss 3R Competence Centre:

  • Promotes high-quality research and care for animals by subsidising scientific projects of excellence and quality on the 3Rs principle.
  • Develops a 3Rs education strategy targeted at different educational programmes.
  • Builds a network and communication platform, providing up-to-date information on the 3Rs principle and alternative methods to animal experimentation to stakeholders and all those interested.

The 3RCC also monitors progress made in the implementation of the 3Rs principle in Switzerland. It offers its services to authorities, teaching bodies and any other interested parties willing to gain additional information on the 3Rs principle and alternative methods to animal experimentation.

Research Funding

Regular open and targeted calls for research projects.

Education

Education programmes & material on the 3Rs principle
for researchers, students, and teaching bodies.

Activities, resources

3RCC’s activities and resources related to the 3Rs in animal experimentation.


Newsletters

Latest 3R news

See all 3RCC newsletters

Stay updated!

Sign up to our monthly newsletter to get news about the 3Rs/3RCC.


Calendar

Symposia & congresses, workshops

20 June 2019. 12. Tierversuchstagung 3R und Ersatzmethoden – Bessere Forschung, weniger Tierleid of Swiss Animal Protection SAP. Hotel Arte, Olten, Switzerland.

2 – 3 July 2019. 2nd European Organ-on-Chip Conference EUROoC 2019. Graz, Austria.

See all conferences

Training & education

September 2019. Two-year part-time FELASA-accredited M.Sc. Laboratory Animal Science course. RWTH International Academy, RWTH Aachen University, Aachen, Germany. Application deadline: 15 August 2019. Info webinars 21 Feb, 25 March 2019.

12 Sept. 2019. Laboratory Animal Science LTK Module 14. ETH Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland.

See all course


Founding members

Overview of board members


Contact

If you have questions or need for additional information, do not hesitate to contact us:

Chantra Eskes Director

Chantal Britt Communications chantal.britt [at]swiss3rcc.org

 

Armand Mensen Scientific Officer armand.mensen[at]swiss3rcc.org

Isabelle Desbaillets Scientific Officer isabelle.desbaillets[at]swiss3rcc.org

Phone +41 31 631 56 22 E-Mail secretariat@swiss3rcc.org

Media/information requests:
Chantal Britt, phone +41 31 631 56 22, mobile +41 76 588 08 24

Address

Directorate 3RCC c/o University of Bern Hochschulstrasse 6, CH-3012 Bern

Location