Promoting 3R principles through quality science and education

Mission

Le Centre de compétences suisse 3R (3RCC) a pour mission de promouvoir le principe des 3R (remplacement, réduction et raffinement de l’expérimentation animale) en Suisse et de faciliter sa mise en œuvre dans les sciences de la vie en mettant l’accent sur la recherche, l’enseignement et la communication.


Open Call 2019

Appel à la soumission de projets est ouvert du 7 octobre 2019 au 3 novembre 2019. Plus d’information en anglais.

Prix 3R 2019

Le 3RCC offre un prix d’un montant de 5000 CHF à des chercheurs qui ont contribué de façon déterminante à promouvoir le remplacement, la réduction et le raffinement de l’expérimentation animale (le principe des 3R) dans le domaine des sciences de la vie. Date limite de candidature: 17 juin 2019.


2 septembre 2019: Swiss 3Rs Day

Le 3RCC a organisé le Swiss 3Rs Day le 2 septembre 2019 à l’Hôtel Kreuz, à Berne. Interventions d’invités et présentations de résultats de recherche sur les 3R ont fait partie du programme de la manifestation, qui a lieu 60 ans après la formulation du principe des 3R par Russel et Burch. Plus d’information.


Les 3R, qu’est-ce que c’est?

Portrait

Organisation à but non lucratif domiciliée à Berne, le Centre de compétences suisse 3R œuvre à la promotion de la recherche, de l’enseignement et de la communication en faveur du remplacement, de la réduction et du raffinement de l’expérimentation animale (principe des 3R).

Le 3RCC est né le 27 mars 2018 d’une initiative conjointe des milieux universitaires, de l’industrie, des organismes de contrôle, des autorités et d’associations de protection des animaux. Il compte parmi ses partenaires onze universités et hautes écoles suisses, l’association des entreprises pharmaceutiques suisses pratiquant la recherche (Interpharma), l’Office fédéral de la sécurité alimentaire et des affaires vétérinaires (OSAV) et la Protection Suisse des Animaux (PSA).

Le 3RCC est un établissement de recherche d’importance nationale opérant dans un but non commercial conformément à l’art. 15 de la loi fédérale sur l’encouragement de la recherche et de l’innovation (LERI) et bénéficiant du soutien du Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation (SEFRI). Le SEFRI et l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP) interviennent comme membres observateurs de l’association 3RCC.

Les 3R, qu’est-ce que c’est?


Activités

Le Centre de compétences suisse 3R

  • Encourage une recherche de haute qualité et le souci du bien-être de l’animal à travers le financement de projets scientifiques d’excellence portant sur le principe des 3R;
  • Élabore une stratégie de formation aux 3R ciblant différents programmes de d’enseignement;
  • Constitue un réseau ainsi qu’une plateforme de communication fournissant aux parties prenantes et à toute personne intéressée des informations d’actualité sur le principe des 3R et sur les méthodes alternatives à l’expérimentation animale.

Le 3RCC assure en outre un suivi des progrès accomplis en Suisse dans la mise en œuvre du principe des 3R. Il propose ses services aux autorités, aux établissements de formation et à toute autre partie en quête d’informations additionnelles sur le principe des 3R et sur les méthodes alternatives à l’expérimentation animale.

Financement de la recherche

Publication régulière d’appels à projets de recherche, ouverts et ciblés

Formation

Programmes et supports de formation sur le principe des 3R pour chercheurs, étudiants et établissements de formation

Activités, ressources,

Activités du 3RCC et ressources relatives à l’application du principe des 3R dans l’expérimentation animale


Bulletins

Actualités 3R

Voir tous les bulletins électroniques du 3RCC

Restez à jour!

Abonnez-vous à notre bulletin électronique mensuel pour suivre l’actualité des 3R et du 3RCC.


Calendrier

Symposiums et congrès

Formations et perfectionnements


Membres fondateurs

Aperçu des membres des comités


Contact

Pour toute question ou complément d’information, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter:

Chantra Eskes Director

Chantal Britt Communications chantal.britt [at]swiss3rcc.org

 

Armand Mensen Scientific Officer armand.mensen[at]swiss3rcc.org

Isabelle Desbaillets Scientific Officer isabelle.desbaillets[at]swiss3rcc.org

Phone +41 31 631 56 22 E-Mail secretariat@swiss3rcc.org

Demandes média/informations:
Chantal Britt, phone +41 31 631 56 22, mobile +41 76 588 08 24

Adresse

Directorate 3RCC c/o University of Bern Hochschulstrasse 6, CH-3012 Bern

Lieu

Promoting 3R principles through quality science and education

Mission

The Swiss 3R Competence Centre (3RCC) promotes the 3Rs principle (replacement, reduction and refinement of animal experimentation) in Switzerland and facilitates its implementation in life sciences, focusing on research, education and communication.


Swiss 3RCC 3Rs Award 2019

The 3RCC offers an award of CHF 5,000 to scientists who have significantly contributed to the advancement of Replacement, Reduction, Refinement of animal experimentation (the principle of 3Rs) in the area of life sciences. Application deadline: 17 June 2019. 3RCC award information sheet and application form. More information on award on 3RCC website.


Swiss 3Rs Day on 2 Sept. 2019

The Swiss 3RCC is organising the Swiss 3Rs Day on 2 September 2019 at the Hotel Kreuz in Bern. The event, commemorating the 3Rs principle, Russel and Burch first described 60 years ago, will offer invited lectures and presentations of research results on the 3Rs. More information


About us

The Swiss 3R Competence Centre, a nonprofit association located in Bern, promotes research, education and communication for the replacement, reduction and refinement of animal experimentation (3Rs principle).

The Swiss 3RCC, founded on 27 March 2018, is a joint initiative of academia, the industry, regulators, the government and animal welfare associations. Its partners include 11 universities and higher education institutions from Switzerland, the Swiss association of the pharmaceutical industry (Interpharma), the Swiss Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office (FSVO) and Swiss Animal Protection (SAP).

The 3RCC is a scientific centre of national importance working on a non-commercial basis according to article 15 of the Federal Act on the Promotion of Research and Innovation (RIPA), and benefits from the support of the Swiss State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI). SERI as well as the Swiss Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) are observer members of the 3RCC association.

What are the 3Rs?


Activities

The Swiss 3R Competence Centre:

  • Promotes high-quality research and care for animals by subsidising scientific projects of excellence and quality on the 3Rs principle.
  • Develops a 3Rs education strategy targeted at different educational programmes.
  • Builds a network and communication platform, providing up-to-date information on the 3Rs principle and alternative methods to animal experimentation to stakeholders and all those interested.

The 3RCC also monitors progress made in the implementation of the 3Rs principle in Switzerland. It offers its services to authorities, teaching bodies and any other interested parties willing to gain additional information on the 3Rs principle and alternative methods to animal experimentation.

Research Funding

Regular open and targeted calls for research projects.

Education

Education programmes & material on the 3Rs principle
for researchers, students, and teaching bodies.

Activities, resources

3RCC’s activities and resources related to the 3Rs in animal experimentation.


Newsletters

Latest 3R news

See all 3RCC newsletters

Stay updated!

Sign up to our monthly newsletter to get news about the 3Rs/3RCC.


Calendar

Symposia & congresses, workshops

20 June 2019. 12. Tierversuchstagung 3R und Ersatzmethoden – Bessere Forschung, weniger Tierleid of Swiss Animal Protection SAP. Hotel Arte, Olten, Switzerland.

2 – 3 July 2019. 2nd European Organ-on-Chip Conference EUROoC 2019. Graz, Austria.

See all conferences

Training & education

September 2019. Two-year part-time FELASA-accredited M.Sc. Laboratory Animal Science course. RWTH International Academy, RWTH Aachen University, Aachen, Germany. Application deadline: 15 August 2019. Info webinars 21 Feb, 25 March 2019.

12 Sept. 2019. Laboratory Animal Science LTK Module 14. ETH Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland.

See all course


Founding members

Overview of board members


Contact

If you have questions or need for additional information, do not hesitate to contact us:

Chantra Eskes Director

Chantal Britt Communications chantal.britt [at]swiss3rcc.org

 

Armand Mensen Scientific Officer armand.mensen[at]swiss3rcc.org

Isabelle Desbaillets Scientific Officer isabelle.desbaillets[at]swiss3rcc.org

Phone +41 31 631 56 22 E-Mail secretariat@swiss3rcc.org

Media/information requests:
Chantal Britt, phone +41 31 631 56 22, mobile +41 76 588 08 24

Address

Directorate 3RCC c/o University of Bern Hochschulstrasse 6, CH-3012 Bern

Location